Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

4 May

I don’t know about you, but I am in a “spring mood”. I can’t concentrate, I want to do things but don’t know what that is, I want to fill my house and balcony with flowers and when I sit in the sun i feel like I am thawing (like an ice cube in the heat). I usually try not to admit that I am at the mercy of every weather change, but the alternative explanation is that something is really wrong with me, so I just accept my human nature.

One of the first recipes for muffins I’ve ever made was this one. Till now I had only seen poppy seeds on bread rolls but had never seen them elsewhere and had no idea where to get them. Eventually I found them in a shop with healthy/bio foods, (that are becoming very popular in Greece) packed in 250gram. Huge amount for someone who wants to use no more than two to three tablespoons . I put the rest in a nice jar and stuffed it in a kitchen cabinet. At least it takes up some of the space (I don’t like having empty cabinets, I have the urge to fill them up, even if it’s with stuff I am not going to use).

Back to the muffins. Since the jar with the poppy seed was getting my attention lately (as well as some poppies that have grown by the sidewalks and reminded me of it) I thought of making this recipe and get to use my new rectangular muffin pan too (I also happened to find some pink liners for it – yes I am one of those people who like to accessorize, even for baking).

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

from Joy the Baker

προφιλ

2/3 cup granulated sugar
zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
113grams (8 Tablespoons) butter, melted until browned and cooled*
2 Tablespoons poppy seeds
2 Tablespoons granulated sugar (for topping the batter before baking)

For the Glaze (optional)
1 cup powdered sugar whisked together with 2 or 3 Tablespoons of lemon juice

Preheat oven to 200C.
Line a regular sized muffin tray with paper muffin liners (or you could butter the pan if you prefer) and set aside.

In a large bowl, rub the granulated sugar with the lemon zest until the sugar is lightly colored and scented with lemon.Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a medium sized bowl whisk together the eggs, buttermilk vanilla extract, melted butter and lemon juice.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and fold together.
When almost thoroughly mixed, add the poppy seeds. Divide batter between muffin cups. Sprinkle each muffin with granulated sugar.

Bake for 15 to 18 minutes or until the tops are golden and a skewer inserted in the center of the muffin comes out clean.

Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before glazing. If you’re freezing the cupcakes for future eating, skip the glaze. It doesn’t freeze well.

* Heat the butter in a pan/small saucepan over low heat, until it gets golden brown and releases its aromas. The resulting butter has a nutty flavor and is also called beurre noisette


Leave a Reply

