Lollipops!

28 May

A while back, a cousin sent me a link of some lollipops, saying that she wanted something like that for her son’s christening (it’s common practice to give little “presents” and sweets after the christening ceremony is over and she wanted to give something like those for the kids).

“Yeah, right”, I thought to myself. Part of me wanted to do it, but was afraid that I would destroy my new glass-top stove (a friend was telling me that the sugar melts and sticks on it and stays there forever – true story), that the kitchen counter will melt, that the sugar will stick to my hair and what I might burn my skin (my priorities are a bit messed up, I know).

Since they are always willing to try everything I bake and offer them, with no complains, I thought that I ought to at least give it a try, so I did a test batch. It came out impressive, although I had some difficulties, mainly finding the work flow (the caramel dries quickly and you have to know what you want to do, so I ended up making made big round candies instead of lollies), so I accepted the challenge (“Challenge accepted!”, as Barney says).

I had to make about 60 lollipops and I managed to have them ready in 3 batches, with my mom assisting me and here is the result.

A few words about the recipe:

  • this recipe is with glucose. If you are not fond of this ingredient,  there is a version out there without (haven’t tried it though)
  • I used Wilton liquid food colors for the lollipops
  • the white flowers are store bought, but the others were made from marzipan that I colored with icing colors (paste)
  • it’s good if you have everything ready and lined up before you start (mise en place), as there is a short window of time to do everything, because the caramel dries up quickly
  • you should avoid making them when it’s humid, as they won’t crystallize properly and they will be sticky.

Lollipops

(recipe from Glykes Istories, issue 11 – May 2011)

Ingredients:
for 20 pieces (I made a few more)

200grams glucose syrup
200grams water
500grams sugar
gel food colors (optional)
lollipop sticks
sprinkles for decoration, sugar-paste flowers etc,

In a heavy duty saucepan,pour the sugar, then add the water, and then the glucose syrup, in medium heat.  You can add a few drops of color if you wish (I added it at the end). Without stirring, heat the mixture to 150⁰C (it took me about 15-20 mins). If you don’t have a candy thermometer, just pour a bit of the caramel (half a teaspoon or so) in a bowl or glass with cold water and if the caramel hardens up then it is ready, if not, let it boil a bit more and do the test again.

When it’s ready, take it off the heat and allow it to sit for a minute (it will be quite bubbly, but don’t worry).

Pour spoonfuls of the candy onto a baking sheet or a silicon baking mat and it will spread depending on the quantity (start with a spoonful and add as much as you like, depending on the size you want it – just have in mind that it will spread more on the baking sheet than on the silicon one). While it is still hot, add the lollipop stick and sprinkles, sugar-paste flowers or whatever decoration you like.

If we want to make various colored lollipops, instead of pouring the color at the beginning, you can add it at the end, after it boils. You can also divide the mixture in two or three pots and add a few drops of different colors. Just be quick because the caramel dries up quickly (you can always return the pot to the heat and re-heat it for a couple of minutes).

Let them cool and pull them off the sheet carefully, using a knife gently if necessary. Wrap them in cellophane bags and close with a ribbon tightly.

One Response to “Lollipops!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello Kitty lollipops « the green mixer in english - July 23, 2012

    […] The recipe is the same as last time. […]

Leave a Reply

