Spinach Burgers

13 Jun

In case you are wondering, I am not one of those eccentric ladies who only eat one color of food. If you think so though, I know that I can’t do much to change it, as the only food I have posted here is green.


As I’ve mentioned before, I am on a diet. The cakes and cookies I’ve been making are part of my evil plan to fatten everyone around me, so that I will look leaner and more restrained. I am kidding…. when I was a kid I was quite “plump” and whenever something sweet entered the house, my mom made sure to get rid of it as soon as possible.  Truth is, I don’t have much of  a sweet tooth, I’d rather eat a huge bowl of pop corn than ice cream (I can’t just have one cracker or one crisp, if the bag open it has to go or be eaten). But since I’ve have the tendency to put on weight, there goes this recipe… (with a little cheese on top)

If you are not interested in something healthy and low-cal, please come back in a couple days, I’ll make it up to you, I promise.

A few words about the recipe:

  • the original recipes has cheese in it, but I didn’t use any (just some grated Parmesan on top of it for extra flavor)
  • instead of bread crumbs I used oatmeal, that I pulsed in my food processor, until it resembled like sand
  • you may play around with ingredients, to your liking , as well as with the shape (you may form little balls instead of burgers)

Spinach Burgers

slightly adapted from The Village Cook

450grams frozen spinach, thawed
1 egg
3-4 tBsp oatmeal, ground (you might need some more)
1 onion, finely chopped
1 carrot, finely grated
oil, salt, pepper, chilly flakes, garlic power, to taste

Put the spinach in a shallow pan, in medium-high heat and sauté it until all the liquids are evaporated (I just threw it in the pan frozen and it took me about 10-15 mins). Put in a colander and press hard so that any remaining liquids are drained (or place on some kitchen towel and pat dry).

In a medium bowl mix well all the ingredients with a fork (if the mixture seems too loose, just add some more oats or bread crumbs)

Form into burger-sized patties (or you can do spinach balls)

Heat some oil in a non stick skillet over medium-high and cook the burgers on both sides until golden.

It can be eaten on its own, with some side salad or with some pitta bread as a veggie souvlaki.

2 Responses to “Spinach Burgers”

  1. Lauren June 13, 2012 at 22:35 #

    I have an abnormal love for spinach so this makes my mouth water! Yummmmm

Leave a Reply

